#49- A Mystery

Everywhere I go, I typically come across one Mystery Spot bumper sticker at some point in my travels. Growing up, I’d occasionally see a write up, or TV clip regarding it as well, so it’s a place that- when Santa Cruz is mentioned in Conversation- often pops into my head as associated with the tourist destination town.

Moving closer only increased the frequency of this reminder of a place I had never been to, which is how it came to be #49 on my list.

Surprisingly, one of my only other friends in the area, Sherida, had never been either and had always wanted to go.  Surprisingly, because Sherida is the other thing I think of when I think Santa Cruz because she lives and breathes the region like a third love (one being her family, two being her dog). We made a date to take the kids one quiet Monday after school.

For $6 per person, I’d say it’s a very fun and entertaining tourist attraction.  The validity to it?  I’m no science junkie to know but my personal feeling is that it’s just a great optical illusion which, at the very least challenges kids to think about…stuff…. We felt dizzy, we laughed, we experimented.  Our tour guide was hopelessly cheesy with his slapstick G-rated humor but he also talked really fast, to the point where I felt that maybe that was part of the gig: talk fast so visitors don’t have enough time to digest what is said and question the authenticity of what is being presented.  Or it was just him.

At any rate, at the end of the 45 minute tour we got a free bumper sticker.  Which would explain why I see them EVERYWHERE and probably is a great advertising strategy.  It certainly pulled me in and  got $12 out of me. Natalie stuck hers on the trash can at our post office, but I am still considering where I want to put mine.  It sounds silly, but it almost feels like a rite of passage… no, a civic duty…. a responsibility to the greater good to put mine somewhere good and continue the message of The Mystery Spot. Ridiculous, I know.

Leave a Reply

