#26- Books

Lemony Snicket was quoted as saying, “ It is most likely that I will die next to a pile of books I was meaning to read.” Any avid reader would probably agree, and I am no different.  My pile of books tormented me daily, because I always set them out as a reminder (in my life, ‘out of sight, out of mind’ is my motto) but that rarely did me any good because time was one thing I never scheduled myself for.

However, knowing me and knowing the motivation my bucket list has given me, I put this task on as my #26- read ALL the books in my to-read pile.  8 of them (a modest number compared to most avid readers). And in my case, I aimed to get this done BEFORE baby #3 made his debut. No books would be allowed to be purchased or gifted until this task was completed.

proxy, onward, pescadero, steve jobs, david sedaris, three cups of tea

Success!

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to review each book, that would be a bit daunting and there is so much to be said about each one… but maybe a thought for some of them.

1) I have a ton more respect for Starbucks than I started out with.  I typically believe autobiographies are nothing more than delusional people hoping to give you a very one-sided, glossed over and dressed up look of their ridiculously out-of-touch lives (celebrities, politicians). And perhaps some of that is the case with Howard Schultz and his life as founder & ceo of Starbucks, but at the same time… the humanitarian efforts he has made alongside the company is no joke.  I recently had someone refer to their local Starbucks as the “corporate assholes” around the corner, and it just didn’t settle right with me, knowing what I know now.  The list is long, but  the amount of time, effort and money Starbucks and Starbucks employees have given to their communities is astonishing.

2) Steve Jobs is phenomenal.  I thought reading this biography, the longest book in my pile, would be tedious and boring.  But Walter Isaacson is an engaging author and Steve also insisted that the brutal truth be told- even the ugly sides of him.  As mentioned above, I was impressed with the honesty.

3) Three Cups of Tea, a gift from my little bro over 3 years ago:  building schools in Pakistan before 9/11, before the internet, before it was cool. It made me want to travel there, but today that would be a death wish. I’m not muslim, and I’m a woman. Two big red flags working against me.

4) David Sedaris is still the most hysterical writer ever.

Looking at the books I’ve had in my pile to read, I realized after completing them that, with the exception of one book, they were all written by men and 5 of those were stories of them living their passion unapologetically.  Very few times have I been bummed out about being female, and this was one of those times. I was in awe at the moment of reading the books but very quickly afterwards determined I really had no way to of living any similar life.  I suppose “where there is a will, there is a way,” but my will is directed towards my family now.

Anyway, now that I have officially read every book in my home, I went out and purchased my next Thriller: The World According to Monsanto. I’m a sociology kind of girl…..

Leave a Reply

