#58- Tree housing

When we first moved to the Coast, and I suffered many sleepless nights, I spent a decent amount of time driving these crazy backroads and google-earth searching my neighborhood.  There is quite a bit of crazy going on in these mountains, in my humble, suburb-inner city perspective. Typically, my mind asks the same question every time I see a road, home, hiker or the like:  how can anyone be so far out in the middle of what seems to be nowhere?  Granted, the Santa Cruz mountains is really  only 20-30 miles wide from Coastline to City limits, but still. I need other human contact in a general mile radius to stay sane I’ve decided. The half mile to my closest neighbor is tough.

What I’m getting at, is not long ago I was told about a Treehouse not far from my home. I was told it was a site worth seeing and you had to hike in to get to it. After talking to several other locals and determining I wasn’t going to get attacked or killed (The hills have eyes?), and having another enthusiastic family of friends want to come along, I put it on my bucket list (#58) for the year and we finally made the trek today!

It’s quite a hike.  Uphill. approx. 3 miles, though we were originally told two. I carried Holly on my back the entire way so it was a workout worth remembering.  We passed a total of two other thrill-seekers besides ourselves (ourselves being Keith, Jen, Miles and Natalie).  We were hoping to also come across some known waterfalls in the area, but it was determined that the persisting drought made them non-existent. Towards the end of this windy curving trail it became a standing joke that surely, it was “right around that next corner.”  Several points along the way we stopped to assess the noises we heard, only to determine it was departing & arriving SFO jumbo aircraft shifting gears and working landing gear.  We were THAT close!

But, the end destination made it all worth it.  Private property, bordering two state parks.  It was loosely fenced off with polite and charming signs asking us to not trespass, and and added bonus were the railcars that found their way to the top as well.  No one was home, I’m not sure how often the owners visits- I am tempted to ask next time I see them.  They have several kiddos the same age as Natalie, so I spent some time trying to convince Natalie to get more friendly with them and they might just invite her to come play.  I want to come play.   I don’t have a good picture of it, but at the very very VERY top of those trees & treehouse is a Crow’s Nest set up that you have to climb up to using pulleys & harnesses.  I would love to see what that view is like!

3 thoughts on “#58- Tree housing

  1. Someday, I would like to go see this place! Isn’t it amazing that they got the building materials up that far! There was that one in Fairfield, too, that we never got to see. I think it was taken down though for new buildings.

  2. Pingback: #1- Drive the Fire Road | A Year of Living to the Fullest

Leave a Reply

