#77- DIY Home Decor

Two years ago I was really ambitious, and set out to recreate our Master Bedroom.  It has been the last room in the house that has been left untouched for the most part, but on my original Bucket list, I had put on there to purchase a piece of art from my friend Leslie.  This motivated me to at least paint the room and get it ready for the art installment, and thanks to Leslie’s advice I found a nice soothing, neutral color that I have yet to regret.  But after hanging Leslie’s Art, the other 3 walls were left empty, although my mind was full of ideas.

I’d like to say I did NOT Pinterest the crap out of this project. While I admit to having a (rarely used) Pinterest account, I refused to look to it for inspiration.  Instead, I looked to craigslist, Ross and garage sales. I found a dresser I liked at a garage sale for $10 cause someone thought it was junk….. I “shabby chic’d” the crap out of it using the left over paint from the walls and some primer with sandpaper…. replaced the handles and voila! An instant Pinterest hit! Next came mirrors from the thrift shop and some decorative mishmash from Ross and I finally have a wall I can fall asleep looking at.  It only took 2 years and a second Bucket list to get it done 🙂

Take that Pinterest! I'll see your Shabby Chic and raise you a distressed antique with renaissance-era knobs.

Take that Pinterest! I’ll see your Shabby Chic and raise you a distressed antique with renaissance-era knobs.

Leave a Reply

