#22- Osmosis

I am a Spa & Massage junkie.  In 2013, I visited a Japanese Onsen, Ten Thousand Waves,  during our visit the New Mexico.  I had given them great feedback and had mentioned that I would be there every month if I lived closer.  The manager kindly responded and recommended I check out Osmosis, in Freestone (Sonoma Coast)- another Japanese inspired Spa. Well, of course I will, dear manager guy! (#22 on my list)

Actually, as soon as he mentioned Osmosis it triggered a long-ago tucked away to-do item from my teen years- true story.  Every summer we went to a camp in Occidental, and directly on the road to the Camp, we would drive past Osmosis. I said to myself back then, “One day, I’m going to go to that place!” Needless to say, I was thrilled to be reminded of this place and my quest.  Often my life motto is “out of sight, out of mind,” but I digress….

Osmosis offers a unique, only-spa-in-America, treatment called the Cedar Bath.  It is a traditional Japanese process which is pretty much how it sounds- a bath filled with Cedar sawdust, mixed with a few other fancy things that together create its own crazy compost heat energy. Yup, we sat in decomposing sawdust.

It was much like the mud bath I experienced at Indian Springs, only different friend and different substance. Jessica, who I’ve written about [ here ] was my willing volunteer this time around.  We sat in the spa for 20 minutes, overheated then spent another 30 minutes trying to wash it away, followed by 30 minutes of Sound Therapy (aka, snoozing to music on a comfy bed, wearing a blindfold). It was interesting, but we agreed that next time it has to be a solo experience because we spent most of the time being mind-boggled, instead of relaxing or just straight laughing at the ridiculousness of it all.

The Osmosis Spa Grounds is truly phenomenal, and we were encouraged to put on robes and walk around to ‘meditate.’ I’m so glad we did, and that we didn’t feel rushed.  It was just beautiful!

I would definitely recommend anyone check this place out, but not necessarily for the Cedar Bath.  I would love to go back for a massage one day.

Leave a Reply

