#97- Camp at the Beach!

We live about 5 minutes from the beach, and according to google maps our house is less than a mile from the beach. So, why did I feel any desire to set up camp so close by?

One evening a while back, we were pulling away from Francis Beach here in HMB after a nice walk along the coast at sunset and I looked towards towards the campground there to see a tent and glowing fire that danced against a bright blue evening sky .  It was something out of a Outdoor Magazine full two-page spread, it was so gorgeous!  I remember it so clearly, despite it being two years ago and it was at that moment that I decided camping on the beach had to be on my bucket list.

The real question is, why did it take so long to coordinate? I don’t know.  It’s one of those problems that plague millions of people everywhere: When you live next to lake and never go fishing, you walk past a restaurant everyday but never go in to eat.  You have a phone in your pocket but you never call.

It took our friends, Brad & Shannon, to drive over with their RV and with their own Francis Beach Reservation for us to pack up the car and meet them for the weekend.  I love tent camping.  I love falling asleep to the sound of drunk men around a fire pit and other people’s generators running and, of course, the crashing waves of the ocean. I love waking up with my eyes stinging from smoke inhalation, making failed attempts to clean the dirt out from between my toes and screaming at kids to be more careful when climbing the tree and collecting old bottle caps. It was a great time!

IMG_2295

Leave a Reply

