#88 A Preschool Reunion!

I started my Preschool teaching career in 2001, as a Sophomore at Sac State.  At the time, I didn’t think how much these children would mean to me.  We’ve all heard it before- and it’s no different for me-  teaching is not something you do for the money.  It’s a passion, and a fulfillment that has no price tag.

I loved loved LOVED my work with the families and student staff at The Children’s Center.  When I left, it was very hard for me, for a lot of reasons but the biggest reason being that every day I had the privilege of working with children and getting to know the parents and becoming best friends with them and the staff.  It’s been two years since I’ve left, and although I am connected with many of these people thru facebook, I still missed seeing each of them.  So, #88 (Have a mass playdate with old center parents & kiddos, and staff ) was a big goal for me.

I couldn’t believe the overwhelming positive response I got when I initially created the invite on FB, and the mass email I sent out to parents on my contact list.  I was so thrilled!  The pictures don’t do the day justice (though I give a big thanks to Leslie for taking over my camera because my hands were full with a new baby).

One of the best surprises was having several children from my very first preschool group show up- because when I very first started teaching, I wasn’t using email to connect with the families so as the years past I lost contact with ALL of them. But somehow the message got passed along and my jaw dropped when I saw Jamison, Samantha, and Makenna stroll up to the park benches… I didn’t even recognize them!  It made my day!  My other favorite surprise was Miss Kaela Dae driving in from Oregon and spending the entire time reconnecting with her friends.  I think she may have been just as thrilled as me 🙂

We did a group photo, but several families showed up after the picture, and I’m a little bummed I didn’t get photos of everyone-  Like of Aviva and her mini-twin sister Ariel… Jaidan & Kai…. Nigel…. The smile on my face lasted the entire day, it was one of those where my cheeks hurt going to bed that night!   Thank you to all the families & staff- you guys mean the world to me! I am so happy I got to see you all, and my only regret is that I didn’t get to visit more with everyone.

Leave a Reply

