#15 Let’s Go Giants, Let’s Go…?!

 I’m not going to pretend to be a fan of anything or any team. I wish I was.  I think I’d be good at it.  I have a lot of friends who have team loyalties, and around the time I was making my list the super bowl was gearing up, plus with the past successful year of the SF Giants it just seemed like something I wanted to (attempt to) be apart of.  Hence #15 on my list… attend a pro baseball game.

My knowledge of baseball did get a semi-decent start in my early childhood-  I have an older brother who easily convinced me to spend my allowance collecting baseball cards for him from the ice cream truck man that came down our street almost every day to collect my $1.50.  Derek insisted to me that the gum that came with the pack was a good trade off. I’d sit there in his room smacking my gum and helping him  sort the cards into valuable and not valuable, all the while a baseball game would be playing on that old school T.V. with the dials in the background.  Then I think there was a strike?  Combined with me realizing I’d rather save my allowance for other things, and that pretty much ended my interest in Baseball.

Fast forward to this month, I arrived at AT&T Park with Blake and Natalie (meeting up with Matt & Katie) and I realized a few things.

1) I guess I kind of have already done this. I’ve gone to quite a few Rivercats games, and to me it seemed a little equivalent. Sure more people and bigger park,  but really a similar setting.

2) I didn’t mesh well with the crowd we chose to sit with.  I found myself surrounded by girls my age, but CLEARLY using the Game as a potential mating ground seeing as most of them sported the same “slutty hardcore fan” attire of tight cleavage-popping shirts, tight pants, high-heeled knee-high boots, looooong hair worn down with big hoop earrings and matching ballcap…. the deal clencher was how they spent most of their time in the bathroom texting, drinking beer and posing for pictures that would later be their FB Profile picture to falsely boast about their team loyalty in hopes to entice a guy into thinking they are “one of the guys” or a tomboy.  Yes, I’m talking to you.

I think this guy is suppose to be good?

3) I suspect that there are only 2 or 3 people in the crowd who really are intently watching the game and the rest of us rely on them to keep us informed while we socialize.  Cause even tho I have to say I gave it a fair amount of my attention, most amazing plays went right over my head but because one guy stands up and starts screaming, the rest of us follow within seconds, only needing to watch the replay on the board a minute later to realize what we were cheering or booing for.

 

 

 

Startin' them young

4) I was super excited regardless, and had a great time.  I loved knowing that Natalie’s sports team education got a much better jump start than I got, and I wouldn’t mind going to more games.

Now, we wound up going with Matt, Katie & Landon- who was also attending his first game ever. His advantage over me is his parents are hardcore A’s fans.  I guess I should mention this was the Giants vs. A’s game. Haha!  Fun stuff 🙂

Leave a Reply

